The United Nations Correspondents Association (UNCA) invites media worldwide to submit entries for its 16th Annual UNCA Awards Dinner and Dance for the best written and electronic media coverage of the United Nations, its agencies and field operations.
Secretary General Ban Ki-moon will present the prizes at the Awards Gala dinner on Wednesday, December 14 at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York.
There are no entry fees of any kind for submissions. These awards are open to all journalists anywhere in the world.
Award Categories
1. The Elizabeth Neuffer Memorial Prize – sponsored by the Alexander Bodini Foundation, for written media (including online media) coverage of the UN and its agencies and their work.  Elizabeth Neuffer, The Boston Globe bureau chief at the United Nations, died while on assignment in Baghdad in 2003.
2. The Ricardo Ortega Memorial Prize – for broadcast journalism coverage of the UN, and its agencies, jointly sponsored by the World Council of Peoples for the United Nations and Antena-3 of Spain.  Ricardo Ortega, formerly the New York correspondent for Antena 3 TV of Spain, was one of the leading Spanish journalists of his generation who was shot dead on mission, in Haiti in 2004.
3. The Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation/UNCA Global Prize – for coverage of Climate Change.
4. The United Nations Foundation prize – for any entry in any medium that best covers the humanitarian and development aspects of the U.N. and its agencies.
Worth of Awards: The prizes amount to over $50,000 with $10,000 each for the main categories.
How to Apply
Submit your works in print, Internet, radio or TV between August 2010 and July 2011, covering the UN and its agencies in whatever capacity.  The judges will look for entries with impact, insight and originality, and will take into account the courage and assiduity of the journalist.  Investigative work is also welcome.
Entries not in one of the official languages of the UN should have a translation into English or French, and video entries should be in DVD or VHS (preferably NTSC) format.
They particularly welcome entries from outside the USA and even more so from developing world media. A written transcript will assist judging of radio and TV entries. Multiple or joint entries will be accepted.
Mailing Instructions:
Fedex, registered or couriered packages should be sent to:
UNCA Awards Committee
Mailbox 613
The Chrysler Building
132 East 43rd Street
New York, NY 10017, USA
+1 (212) 867-0001
Send scanned or email entries and any questions to: [email protected], along with ENTRY FORM.
If you have any questions regarding awards, call the UNCA Office 1-212-963-7137.
Application forms are available in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, Spanish
Deadline: September 15, 2011.
For more information, and to download the application form, visit their website by clicking here.