Applications for the Richard J Margolis Award for Nonfiction Writers of Social Justice Journalism in the USA in 2022 are currently open.

The award honours the life of Richard J Margolis (1929-1991), a renowned journalist, essayist and poet who gave eloquent voice to the rural poor, migrant farm workers, Native Americans, aging adults and others whose voices are seldom heard. He also wrote several  books for children.

Worth of Award

The award combines

  • a one-month residency at Blue Mountain Center,
  • an acclaimed writers’ and artists’ colony in New York’s Adirondack Mountains, with
  • a $10,000 prize.


The award is given annually to a promising new journalist or essayist whose nonfiction work combines

  • warmth,
  • humor and
  • wisdom and
  • sheds light on issues of social justice.

How to Apply

Submit the following materials either as separate documents or combined into one or more documents as specified below:


  • cover letter stating your interest in and qualifications for the award;
  • project description of your current and anticipated work and what you will work on during your Blue Mountain residency;
  • brief biographical note;

Similarly, two to three samples of your work, published or unpublished, should meet the following criteria:

    • Nonfiction samples only (no fiction or poetry);

    • 30 pages maximum; and

    • At least one sample being non-memoir material.

All materials may be emailed as PDF files (preferred!) to [email protected]. Please name all files starting with your last name (e.g., Smith-cover letter+description.pdf, Smith-writing sample.pdf, etc.).

If submitting paper materials, mail them to the address below. Please note that we cannot return samples.

Richard J Margolis Award

c/o Margolis & Bloom

100 William Street

Suite 220

Wellesley, MA 02481

Deadline: Applications are accepted year-round but must be received by July 1.


Click here for more details and to apply