New Zealand Development Scholarships open for applications from prospective postgraduate African students who wish to study in New Zealand. The scholarship is offered in key priority subject areas where New Zealand offers expertise to African countries. Scholarships provide an opportunity for people to obtain qualifications at participating New Zealand universities and technical institutions.
The following types of qualifications are available under New Zealand Development Scholarships:

  • Postgraduate Certificate (6 months)
  • Postgraduate Diploma (1 year)
  • Masters (research and/or coursework) (1-2 years)

New Zealand Institutions where you can study for NZDS:

  • New Zealand Development Scholarships are offered at:
  • Auckland University of Technology
  • Lincoln University
  • Massey University
  • Unitec
  • University of Auckland
  • University of Canterbury
  • University of Otago
  • Victoria University of Wellington
  • University of Waikato

Worth of Award
New Zealand has world class education institutions that offer internationally recognised qualifications. Successful applicants will have access to excellent academic knowledge, quality facilities and enjoy a learning environment that celebrates diversity, new thinking and multi-cultural perspectives. New Zealand Scholarships cover:

  • Full tuition fees
  • Travel costs
  • An establishment and living allowance
  • Medical and travel insurance
  • Pastoral and academic support

Some scholars may also be eligible for:

  • Home located research grant, home leave, and compassionate travel
  • Introductory programmes prior to starting formal academic study
  • A contribution towards research and thesis costs
  • Additional tutorial assistance if required
  • A work visa and access to employment
  • New Zealand primary and secondary education for dependents.All awardees (and any family members) are required to return to their home country for a minimum period of two years following completion of their Scholarship in order to contribute to their country’s economic and social development

The scholarship is eligible for the following countries:

  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Djibouti
  • Ethiopia
  • Egypt
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Africa
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Priority Subject Areas: Scholarships are available for the following subjects:

  • Sustainable economic development
  • Agricultural development supported by human resource development
  • Renewable Energy (including geothermal development)

Awards are open to candidates from government, civil society and private business organisations. To be eligible, applicants must:

  • Be a citizen of your country and have resided there for at least two years at the time of application (permanent residents are not eligible to apply). You must also reside in your country of citizenship during the application and selection process.
  • For all other candidates, have been working in your country for at least two years prior to application.
  • Be able to demonstrate a strong commitment to your country’s public, private or civil society sector and to the development of your country in general.
  • Agree in writing that you will return to your country for a minimum of two years following completion of your Scholarship in order to contribute to your country’s social or economic development.
  • Be available to take up the Scholarship in the calendar year for which the Scholarship is offered.
  • Satisfy the admission requirements of the New Zealand institution in which the degree programme is to be undertaken, including the institution’s English language criteria.
  • Be able to satisfy Immigration New Zealand requirements for international student entry to New Zealand (i.e. medical checks, police clearances/character checks, etc).
  • Not be seeking funding for a qualification already commenced in New Zealand or another country.
  • Not have citizenship or permanent residence status of New Zealand, Australia (except for Pacific countries who also have New Zealand citizenship).
  • Not hold or have held a New Zealand Government or Australian Government Scholarship in the preceding 24 months at the time of application.

Preference will be given to the following applicants:

  • Who are strong academic performers, possess leadership potential and are under 40 years of age.
  • Proposed course options must be progressive of your first qualification (this means holders of bachelor degrees should apply for Masters or PhD and Masters graduates should apply for PhD study).

How to Apply

  • To apply, obtain an offer of place at an approved New Zealand tertiary institution (it is recommended that you apply and attach your completed Scholarship application from.

To apply for a New Zealand Scholarship follow the following steps:

  • Apply for admission to one of the nine eligible New Zealand education institutions using their usual application process for international students. Attach your completed New Zealand Scholarships application form .
  • Should you be successful in gaining admission, the New Zealand institution will forward your Scholarship application to the Scholarships Team at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade.
  • Alternatively if you have already received an offer of place from a New Zealand institution, please complete the New Zealand Scholarships application form . Then courier your completed Scholarship application form, letter of admission and all other required documents to your nearest New Zealand High Commission or Embassy or to the Scholarships Team, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Private Bag 18-901, Wellington 5045, New Zealand by 1 August.

Deadline: Application closes by April 30, 2014
Click here for more details and to apply