IOM West and Central Africa Migration Journalism Award for Investigative Journalism 2021

Applications are currently open for the IOM West and Central Africa Migration Journalism Award in 2021.

The Reporting Migration initiative encourages investigative journalism on migration in order to nuance negative discourses and narratives about the phenomenon in the region. The initiative is also aimed at Free, independent journalism that meets high standards of quality, helps raise awareness of the risks of irregular migration, and restores dignity to the thousands of migrants who are prejudiced against them.

Worth of Award

As the winner of the IOM West and Central Africa Migration Journalism Award, you will receive USD 1, 250.


  • Participants must be 18 years old and older at the time the entry was published.
  • Only nationals from a country in West and Central Africa can participate including Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone or Togo.
  • Journalists or students in journalism schools officially accredited by one of the countries may participate.

To participate in this competition, journalists and/or student journalists are invited to submit their published articles, radio or video reports on the following thematic areas:

  • Migration, environment, and climate change (including the links between migration), pastoralism, displacement, planned relocation and environmental degradation, agriculture, water scarcity, coastal erosion, urbanization, desertification, and disasters.
  • Feature stories on reintegration projects that impact a returnee migrant and/or community.
  • Awareness-raising about irregular migration, and
  • Alternatives to irregular migration.
ALSO READ:   PhD Positions in Experimental Quantum Physics at University of Amsterdam in Netherlands 2022

Other factors include

  • Print (online or traditional)
  • Broadcast (TV or radio)
  • Only entries in which the applicant is the primary author or the co-author of the submitted piece will be accepted.
  • Journalists may enter stories from the following forms of media distribution Geographic coverage – The submitted work must be focused on subjects relating to migration in West and Central Africa. This is defined as stories or reports about migration in countries in the region including internal migration, or from outside the region with a link to countries in the region, or about West and Central Africa diaspora and migrant communities residing in other parts of the world.
  • Prior to submission, an entry must be published or broadcast through a media outlet (online, in print, or on-air). The articles or reports must have been published or aired on the media outlet between September 1, 2020, and August 31, 2021.
  • Multiple entries are acceptable; however, each submission must be submitted online separately.
  •  By submitting entries, you give the right to IOM, APO, and the media partners of this competition to republish the pieces on their organization’s platforms.
ALSO READ:   Pershing Square Scholarship for Oxford 1+1 MBA Joint Masters Degree at Oxford Uni 2021

How to Apply

All applications should be made online via the official website.

Deadline: The deadline for submissions is October 15, 2021.


Click here for more details and to apply