Sheikh Zayed Book Award for Outstanding Writers in the UAE 2021 (Win up to (US $1.9m)

Applications are currently being invited for the Sheikh Zayed Book Award for Outstanding Writers in the UAE in 2021.

The Sheikh Zayed Book Award commemorates the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, Founding President of the UAE and Ruler of Abu Dhabi, and his pioneering role in promoting national unity and development.

The Sheikh Zayed Book award is an independent cultural initiative administered by the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi.

The award categories include

  • Arabic Culture in other Languages

Recognizes written works produced in languages other than Arabic, tackling the Arab civilization and culture, including humanities, fine arts, literature (novels, short stories, poems), and history.

  • Children’s Literature

Covers literary, scientific and cultural books addressing various children’s groups and adolescents, whether it is fictional stories or simplified factual historical and scientific narratives, put in an artistic layout.

  • Contribution to the Development of Nations 

Consists of books in the fields of economics, sociology, management, politics, law, and theology that contribute to a nation’s advancement, whether a theoretic review or documenting practice.

  • Cultural Personality of the Year

Honors a prominent Arab or international figure (or organization) who has contributed to the advancement of the Arabic culture, embodies through his/her work tolerance, and promotes peaceful coexistence.

  • Literary and Arts Criticism
ALSO READ:   O'Brien Fellowship for Journalism at Marquette University in USA 2022

Covers works of criticism in the fields of art, cinema, music, theatrical plays, studies of image, architecture, sculpture, historical ruins, folkloric arts, and history of literature and theories.

  • Literature

Represents works across various categories of literature including poetry, short stories, novels, biographies, theatrical plays, and other types of arts.

  • Publishing and Technology

Includes publishers, distributors, research institutions, and cultural institutions, which promote culture through various forms of digital, visual, and audio processes.

  • Translation

Recognizes translated works, either to or from Arabic, provided it maintains loyalty to original source, linguistic accuracy, and maintaining the context.

  • Young Author

Recognizes works in science, literature, culture, fine arts, and humanities, in addition to scientific theses that are published, produced by authors younger than 40 years.

Worth of Award

  • Each prize consists of a gold medal bearing the Sheikh Zayed Book Award logo, a certificate of merit, and a cash reward, comprising a total prize value of seven million UAE Dirhams (the US $1.9m) annually.
  • The Cultural Personality of the Year receives a prize of one million UAE Dirhams, while the winners of the other categories receive 750,000 UAE Dirhams each.
ALSO READ:   Erasmus Mundus Scholarships for the AFEPA Masters in Europe 2022


The award, and its associated accolades, are presented annually to

  • outstanding writers,
  • intellectuals, and
  • publishers, as well as a
  • young talents whose writing and translation in humanities objectively enrich Arab intellectual, cultural, literary, and social life.

How to Apply

All applications should be made online via the official website.

Deadline: Submissions are open for four months every year from May to October 1st, 2021. 


Click here for more details and to apply