The 2014 Eisaku Sato International Essay Contest is now open for applications. It was inaugurated in 1980 and has been annually held since 1990. It is organised by the Eisaku Sato Memorial Foundation for Cooperation with the United Nations University, which was established by the late Eisaku Sato, former Prime Minister of Japan with the monetary award, that he received with his 1974 Nobel Peace Prize.
Theme: “Discuss the merits and demerits of extending long-term assistance to developing countries whose own self-help efforts are inadequate, as well as potential measures that could promote greater self-help efforts”.
Essays may be written in either English (3,000-6,000) or Japanese (8,000-16,000 characters). All essays should be typed on A4-size paper and include an abstract of up to 450 words (English) or 1,200 characters (Japanese).
Submission must be original and unpublished papers and must include reference notes and a bibliography if other author’s works are cited.
Worth of Prizes
Grand Prize: 500,000 yen
Second Prize: 200,000 yen
Several Honourable Mentions (50,000 yen each) will be awarded. The winners will be notified by June 2014. Winners who are able to attend will receive their prizes at a ceremony to be held at the United Nations University in Tokyo.
The 30th Eisaku Sato Essay International Contest is open to anyone who has an interest in both the United Nations University and the designated contest topic. There are no restrictions to Age, Nationality or Profession.
How to Apply
To enter the 2014 Eisaku Sato Essay Contest, please submit four copies of your essay along with a cover sheet listing your Name, Affiliation, Age, Gender, Nationality, Mailing address and (if available) Telephone/Fax number and E-mail address, to:
The Eisaku Sato Essay Contest Secretariat
c/o United Nations University Library
5-53-70 Jingumae, Shibuya-ku
Tokyo 150-8925, Japan.
Note that the submitted essays will not be returned. Any essay that does not follow the criteria specified above will be disqualified.
Submission Deadline: 31, March 2014.
For further information, please contact the Foundation: E-mail: [email protected]
Click here for official announcement