The AERC Collaborative MA Programme (CMAP) is awarded to develop economics programmes in Africa that meet international standards, are relevant to African needs and can eventually be sustained from local resources.
An Academic Board with membership drawn from participating universities is largely responsible for the academic substance of the programme. Participating departments have been placed in two categories, category A and category B.
Category B universities comprise those that are deemed to have adequate capacity to offer core courses (Macroeconomics, Microeconomics and Quantitative Methods) and that meet jointly determined and enforced standards. Currently these are:

  • Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia
  • University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe
  • University of Nairobi, Kenya
  • University of Botswana, Botswana
  • University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
  • University of Malawi, Malawi
  • University of Ghana, Ghana
  • Makerere University, Uganda
  • University of Namibia, Namibia
  • University of Mauritius, Mauritius

The rest, Category A universities, send their students to Category B universities. Category A comprises:

  • National University of Lesotho, Lesotho
  • Moi University, Kenya
  • University of Sierra Leone, Sierra Leone
  • University of Cape Coast, Ghana
  • University of Swaziland, Swaziland
  • University of Zambia, Zambia
  • Kwame Nkrumah University of Science & Technology, Ghana
  • Kenyatta University, Kenya
  • Univerisity of Eduardo Mondlane, Mozambique
  • University of Liberia, Liberia
  • National University of Rwanda
  • University of Burundi
  • University of The Gambia

Program overview

  • Assignment to either of the categories is not a permanent status, universities are required to build their capacity and progress to category B.
  • Provisions exist for increasing or reducing the number of departments qualified to offer the degree, and this is based on performance and evaluation.
  • The typical degree programme takes 18-24 months and is divided into three components:
  • Core courses: 9 – 12 months
  • Elective courses: 3 months at the CMAP-Joint Facility for Electives (JFE) in Nairobi
  • Thesis research: 6 – 9 months

Worth of award

  • In addition to financing the programme, AERC facilitates curriculum development, joint enforcement of standards, and student and teacher movements.
  •  It also provides support for improved teaching facilities and library services and manages the Joint Facility for Electives.
  • As the executing agency, AERC is responsible for all grant making and contractual arrangements among the collaborators.

How to Apply
Interested students should direct their applications to the degree-awarding universities whose addresses and other co-ordinates are given below.
However, for students with sponsorship outside the AERC’s resources, they are free to apply to any of the seven universities.
Head, Department of Economics
Addis Ababa University, P O Box 1176
Tel: 251 1 564650
Fax: 251 1 553504
E-mail: [email protected]
Dept: [email protected]
Head, Department of Economics
University of Zimbabwe
P.O. Box 167, Mt. Pleasant, HARARE, Zimbabwe
Tel: 263 4 303211
Fax: 263 4 333407
E-mail: [email protected]
Personal: [email protected]
Head, Department of Economics
University of Dar es Salaam
P O Box 35045, DAR ES SALAAM, Tanzania
Tel: 255 22 2410134
Fax: 255 22 2410213
Email: [email protected]
OR [email protected]
Head, Department of Economics
University of Ghana
P.O. Box 57, LEGON, Ghana
Tel: 233 21 501485/87/501486
Fax: 233 21 50146
E mail: [email protected]
Department of Economics
University of Nairobi
P O Box 30197, NAIROBI, Kenya
Tel: 254 2 334244
Fax: 254 2 243046
Email: [email protected]
Head, Department of Economics
University of Botswana
Private Bag 0022, GABORONE, Botswana
Tel: 267 355 2149/2543/2151
Fax: 267 355 2543
E-mail: [email protected]
Department of Economics
University of Malawi
Chancellor College, P O Box 280, ZOMBA, Malawi
Tel: 265 522222
Fax: 265 523021
Email: [email protected]
Personal: [email protected]
Head, Department of Economics Statistics
Faculty of Social Studies & Humanities
University of Mauritius
REDUIT, Mauritius
Tel: 230 4541041
Fax: 230 4656184
Email: [email protected]
Head, Department of Economics
University of Namibia
Private Bag 13301, WINDHOEK, Namibia
Tel: 264 61 2063774
Fax: 264 61 2063410
E mail: [email protected]
Dean, Faculty of Economics and Management Makerere University
P O Box 7062, KAMPALA, Uganda
Tel: 256 41 530115
Fax: 256 41 532355
Email: [email protected]
Deadline: application deadline is not stated. Contact the institution of interest to you for details.
 Click here to see official announcement.

Subscribe to our newsletter!
Clicking "Subscribe me" is successful, even if you don't see any confirmation here