The Elsevier Foundations calls for nominations from groups, academies and research institutes in order to  celebrate research excellence of women scientists working and living in Africa, the Middle East, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean for the 2014 Elsevier Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World.
The Elsevier Awards were launched in 2012 by The Elsevier Foundation, TWAS and OWSD to celebrate the achievements of women scientists in the early stages of their careers, with the aim of creating role models for other women to follow, a step that is critical for retaining top talent and building a stronger research culture in developing countries.

  • Five Awards will be awarded annually, one each to a female scientist from one of the five regions of the world: Latin America and the Caribbean; the Arab region; Sub-Saharan Africa; Central and South Asia; and East and South-East Asia and the Pacific.
  • The five region-specific annual Awards will rotate between the life sciences, chemical sciences and physical, mathematical and engineering sciences. In 2014, the five Awards will be given in the chemical sciences.

Worth of Awards

  • The five winning scientists of the 2014 edition will be celebrated for their research excellence, and receive a cash prize of USD5,000 in addition to a year’s complimentary access to ScienceDirect and all-expenses-paid attendance at the Annual Meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in February 2014 in Chicago, IL, USA, where the awards ceremony will take place.
  • The winners will also be invited to attend international events pertaining to OWSD and TWAS.


  • Candidates must be female early-career scientists (within ten years of earning their PhD degree).
  • At nomination, candidates must have lived and worked for at least three years in one of the countries listed in the nomination form.


  • The selection process will be administered by OWSD and TWAS.
  • The assessment will be based on achievements in the field, with particular attention paid to the nominees’ publications in international peer-reviewed journals.

How to Apply

  • Nominations are invited from OWSD members, TWAS members, national science academies, national research councils and senior academics (heads of departments, heads of universities) both in developing and developed countries.
  • Self-nominations, or nominations by selection committee members, are not accepted.
  • Nominations need to be made on the nomination form and be signed by the nominator; they must include the candidate’s curriculum vitae and full list of publications; and be accompanied by three reference letters.
  • Nominations must reach the OWSD Secretariat by 15 September 2013.

Inquiries and completed nomination forms should be addressed to:
OWSD-Elsevier Awards
OWSD Secretariat
ICTP campus
Strada Costiera 11
34151 Trieste, Italy
Phone: +39 040 2240321
Fax: +39 040 2240689
eMail: [email protected]
Deadline: Deadline for receiving nominations for the 2014 Awards is September 15 2013. Winners will be informed of their selection in November/December 2013.
Click to read more and apply online  

Subscribe to our newsletter!
Clicking "Subscribe me" is successful, even if you don't see any confirmation here