American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the Kavli Foundation invites applications for the Science Journalism Awards in 2020.

Since their inception in 1945, the AAAS Science Journalism Awards have honoured distinguished reporting on science by professional journalists. The awards, an internationally recognized measure of excellence in science journalism, go to individuals (rather than institutions, publishers or employers) for coverage of the sciences, engineering and mathematics.

In recognition of a generous endowment in 2009 by The Kavli Foundation that ensured the future of the program, the awards are now called the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards. Kavli doubled the endowment in 2015, allowing them for the first time to make the competition truly international. All categories of the competition are now open to journalists doing work for independent news organizations around the globe. As always, independent judging committees select the winning entries based on scientific accuracy, initiative, originality, clarity of interpretation, and value in fostering a better public understanding of science and its impact.


Worth of Award

  • In each category, there are now two awards: Gold, with a prize of $5,000, and Silver, with a prize of $3,500.
  • The awards are presented each year at the AAAS Annual Meeting in February. Entrants agree that, if they win, they will attend the awards ceremony, unless prevented by circumstances beyond their control.
  • The award includes reimbursement for travel and hotel expenses. In cases of multiple authors or producers, only one person’s travel expenses will be covered.


  • Entries must have been originally published, broadcast or posted online during the contest year. There is no entry fee.
  • The awards are open to reporters doing work for independent news organizations around the world.
  • Print articles must be readily accessible to the public by subscription or newsstand sales.
  • If the submitted work was published or broadcast in a language other than English, you must provide an English translation.
  • You cannot enter the same story or stories in two different categories, nor may you enter a story both as an individual entry and as part of a group of stories.
  • Entry limit: Entrants may submit up to THREE entries in all (across one or more categories).

The following are not eligible for the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards:

  • Items exclusively concerning health or medical treatment.
  • Items published originally in AAAS publications or produced by AAAS.
  • Items by employees of AAAS or The Kavli Foundation.

How to Apply

Entries for this award can be made by filling out the application form on their website

Deadline: The entry deadline is August 1, 2020. 


Click here for more details and to apply