Sanlam Life Insurance Limited is inviting applications for the Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism for excellent achievement in financial reporting in South Africa in 2019.

The awards are running successfully for the 45th consecutive year, representing the longest-running awards dedicated to financial journalism in South Africa. Their objective is to support the development of journalism on the continent.

In 2013, Sanlam introduced the category of The African Growth Story to recognize the significance of business and investment on the continent. Entries should focus on the growth of the continent in terms of investments, infrastructure development, economic progress, and related topics. Stories can reflect a particular country’s perspective but should incorporate a continental outlook. The category is open to journalists who practice in Africa and publish and/or broadcast their work on the continent.

Award Categories

Judges presiding over the Sanlam Financial Journalist of the Year Awards will bestow recognition in two broad classes: (1) The Category Awards, and (2) The Special Awards.

The Category Awards are open to journalists working in print, radio, TV and online media. This section recognises the best financial journalists who produced compelling stories between 1 January and 30 December 2018 in the following categories:

  • Business/Companies
  • Economy
  • Financial Markets
  • Consumer Financial Education
  • Africa Growth Story

For the Special Awards, journalists cannot submit any entries. The judges choose the winners through a nomination and debate process.

The special awards are:

  • Best Newcomer
  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Sanlam Financial Journalist of the Year

The awards recognize achievement in print, radio, TV and online reporting and are the premier financial journalism awards in South Africa, becoming a prestigious and hotly contested accolade.

Worth of Award

The winner of each category receives a prize of R25 000 while the overall winner receives an additional R35 000, and the best newcomer merit award amounts to R20 000.


  • Any writer or broadcaster may enter a submission on a subject related to business, companies, the economy, financial markets or consumer financial education.
  • The above entries will automatically qualify the writer or broadcaster for consideration for the Radio, TV, Print and Online financial journalist of the year awards. Winners will be selected by the judges and announced at the award ceremony.
  • Individual journalists can submit a maximum of one entry per award.
  • Each entry must have its own entry form and must be submitted separately.
  • Each entry must include a minimum of three and maximum of five articles, reports, recordings or transcriptions that have been published or broadcast between 1 January and 31 December 2019.
  • With the exception of the African Growth Story award, only stories published or broadcast in South Africa are eligible.
  • In terms of the African Growth Story award, any journalist working for a media vehicle (print, online, TV or radio) which is produced and distributed on the African continent is eligible. This includes South African reporters.
  • Stories originally published in a language other than English may be submitted and the organizers will arrange for a translation as part of the judging process.
  • Unpublished material will not be accepted.

How to Apply

  • Each submission may consist of a minimum of three and a maximum of five stories.
  • Stories for the category awards are defined as follows:
  • An individual print article
  • A broadcast segment (television or radio)
  • An online article
  • An audio podcast or online video
  • Each entry should include a motivation of no more than 400 words. The motivation should specifically highlight to the judges the entry’s strengths in terms of news value, impact, rigour in reporting, analytical value, originality, integrity, specialist knowledge and storytelling (refer to the ‘criteria’ section of this website for more detail).
  • All print and online articles must be submitted in a single file, preferably in PDF format.
  • A live URL should be provided for all online articles, audio podcasts or online videos.
  • Unpublished material will not be accepted.
  • All print and online articles should be in a font size that is considered reasonably legible. E.g. if a broadsheet article is reduced to fit onto a PDF it can become illegible. Entrants are requested to give this due consideration during the entry process.


Deadline: Application closes February 28, 2020.


Click here for more details and to Apply

Subscribe to our newsletter!
Clicking "Subscribe me" is successful, even if you don't see any confirmation here