Kimberley foundation in Canada is currently accepting applications for the Hugh C. Morris Fellowship (Experiential Learning Fellowship) for Masters and Doctoral Students who exhibit excellence in research and seeks to further their knowledge through a program of experiential learning in 2020.

The Fellowship is inspired by the life experiences of Dr. Hugh C. Morris who was awarded a fellowship in the late 1950s that enabled him to travel to, and learn from, more than 65% of all mines in North America while undertaking his doctoral training at the University of the Witwatersrand in South Africa.

Following the Gold Medal model, the Hugh C. Morris Experiential Learning Fellowship is intended to provide a program of travel that includes visits to communities, industry facilities and/or research laboratories which, taken together, will shape the future life-course of the award recipient and his or her contributions to the field

Worth of Award

  • The Hugh C. Morris fellowship (Experiential Learning Fellowship) is valued up to $40,000 (Canadian), depending on the specific ask of the applicant tied directly to their Experiential Learning Program.
  • Typically, the Hugh C. Morris Experiential Learning Fellowship is typically intended to support activities over a course of a four (4) to eight (8) month period. Note: They do not expect you to be traveling solidly for this time period, although that is certainly possible. Rather, more typically they find that fellows travel somewhere – experience, learn, return home and reflect – then travel somewhere else; the fellowship program becoming a series of experiences that together form a larger integrated vision of experiential learning. The timeline and type of travel strategy will be unique to each application.   A detailed rationale for any experiential program execution period lasting more than twelve (12) months must be provided in the application documentation, clearly outlining the need for the extended period and the benefits it will generate for the learning program being envisioned. In all cases, the experiential program must commence prior to December 15 of the year in which the fellowship is awarded.
  • The Fellowship Award Amount may be directed only for the expenses of the Awardee and as directed to the following purposes, a clear statement of which is to be identified in the Budget submission at the time of application: (Note: ELP stands for Experiential Learning Plan)
  • Travel
      • Economy air, train, boat or bus travel
      • Economy sized car rental for travel to remote locations as well as associated fuel costs
      • Travel visas, immunizations, and medical coverage if including international travel, as well as appropriate insurance for car and other transportation
  • Meals to a maximum of $75 Canadian per diem, excluding alcohol
  • Accommodation, including fees for internet if charged (incidentals such as movies, mini bar, athletic facilities, spa treatments, etc., will not be eligible)
  • Conference / symposium registration fees
  • Demonstrated ELP research related expenses
  • ELP Related Research Supplies
  • Bench Fees required for visits at research institutions and/or facilities
  • Participation in safety programs required as a prerequisite to visit a specific facility or site
  • Meeting room, audio visual and presentation equipment expenses (if required to showcase research activities with external groups)
  • Community engagement expenses (eg. holding a meeting in a community setting might require provision of facilities and snacks for local residents)
  • Printing, communication materials, poster expenses
  • Other types of expenses clearly justifiable to achieve objectives of ELP may be considered and need to be detailed in budget rationale section of formal application


  • The Hugh C. Morris Fellowship (Experiential Fellowship) is open to any masters or doctoral student (domestic or international) registered at a Canadian post-secondary institution.
  • The Foundation will privilege applications that strive to pursue experiential learning programs that ultimately will enable the applicant to positively contribute toward global environmental sustainability or which will position them to pursue a future leading to significant societal impact.

Students eligible to apply to the Fellowship must be studying in one of the below listed fields.

  • earth or geological sciences
  • water sciences
  • alternative energy sciences
  • climate change
  • sustainability
  • environmental studies, including either life, design, or engineering sciences
  • social impact assessment of any of the above areas
  • social sciences concerned with any of the above areas, or
  • design sciences concerned with any of the above areas

How to Apply

You can apply using the submission portal found on their website. The application portal is now open.

A completed application will consist of the following items:

  • A written proposal of the planned Experiential Learning Program (please download and complete the ELP Description form)
  • A Proposed Budget including statement of contributions (cash and/or in-kind, if any) from participating entities in the proposed ELP (please download and complete the budget application form)
  • A current curriculum vitae
  • 2 written references from academic supervisors (which the applicant must arrange to be sent to the Kimberley Foundation)
  • A written Letter of Support / Invitation from each organization, research laboratory, site visit entity, and any participating government or community partners identified in the proposed Experiential Learning Program.

All applications are accepted and considered in confidence.


Deadlines for Hugh C. Morris Fellowship are as follows:

  • Applications close January 31, 2020 (11:59 pm PST) – Online application including ELP form, budget, and support letters Reference letters from academic supervisors must be sent independently from the referee directly to the Kimberley Foundation.
  • February 15, 2020 (11:59 pm PST) – Reference letters from academic supervisors must be sent independently from the referee directly to the Kimberley Foundation. These letters are due February 15, 2020.
  • The Kimberley Foundation will announce the results of its decision making by no later than March 15, 2020 . The successful recipient of the Fellowship may commence their experiential learning program at any time between April 1, 2020 -December 15, 2020.


Click here for more details and to apply

Subscribe to our newsletter!
Clicking "Subscribe me" is successful, even if you don't see any confirmation here