The Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are now open for applications to international students from the commonwealth member countries for the 2014 academic session for the opportunity to study for a UK Master’s degree while living and working in their home country.
The Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are being offered in 2014 for the following under listed Master’s courses. Full details of these courses and the application process must be obtained from the relevant institution. Rather than offering these scholarships directly to students, the CSC works with UK universities to identify appropriate courses and recruit candidates. Below are the eligible institutions:
Bangor University

  • MSc Tropical Forestry

Institute of Education, University of London

  • MA Education and International Development

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

  • MSc Clinical Trials
  • MSc Epidemiology
  • MSc Global Health Policy
  • MSc Infectious Diseases
  • MSc Public Health

London South Bank University

  • MSc Education for Sustainability

Open University

  • MSc Development Management

Royal Veterinary College, University of London

  • MSc Veterinary Epidemiology and Public Health

School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London

  • MSc Poverty Reduction: Policy and Practice
  • MSc Finance (Major: Economic Policy)
  • MSc Public Policy and Management

University of Bath

  • MSc International Construction Management
  • MSc Integrated Environmental Management

University of Birmingham

  • MSc International Development (Conflict, Security and Development)

University of Edinburgh

  • Programmes across One Health, One Medicine
  • MSc Global Health: innovation and education courses (Global Health and Non-Communicable Diseases, Clinical Education, Global Challenges, Paediatric Emergency Medicine, and Global eHealth)

University of Leicester

  • MSc in Risk, Crisis and Disaster Management

University of Liverpool

  • MSc Clinical Research
  • MPH Master of Public Health

University of Oxford

  • MSt International Human Rights Law

University of Southampton

  • MSc Gerontology

University of Stirling

  • MSc Dementia Studies

University of Strathclyde

  • MSc Finance
  • LLM IT and Telecommunications/Internet Law and Policy

University of York
MPA Master of Public Administration – International Development
Worth of Awards
The worth of each award would be decided by the commonwealth scholarship Board
To be eligible for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship, candidates should:

  • be Commonwealth citizens of a developing Commonwealth country, refugees or British protected persons
  • be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • Normally hold a first degree of upper second-class standard, or higher qualification. In certain cases, they will consider a lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience

How to apply

  • Full details of the application process must be obtained from the relevant institution.
  • The CSC expects all candidates being considered for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship to have completed an application form using their Electronic Application System (EAS).
  • Full help on how to apply using the EAS is provided in their guides, which should be read in full before making any attempt to use the EAS.
  • The CSC may require candidates to undertake the academic IELTS English language test as a condition of eligibility. Candidates should check with the UK institution/provider whether this requirement applies to them. It is the candidate’s responsibility to note that an IELTS test will only be considered valid if taken after 1 September 2013 for those candidates wishing to start their studies from September 2014 onwards. Candidates will be asked to provide evidence that they have achieved a minimum overall score of 6.5 on the IELTS scale.

Full details of the application process must be obtained from the relevant institution. To apply for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship:

  • You must complete an EAS application. Please note that it is not possible to submit an EAS application after the deadline that you will see when you open an application
  • The UK university will then decide whether or not to nominate you to the CSC
  • The CSC then selects which of the shortlisted nominated candidates to fund

You are advised to read the following step-by-step guide showing you how to use the EAS:
Deadline: The deadline for applications is 23:59 GMT on May 31, 2014.
Click here for more details about the scholarship
Click here to access the scholarship EAS application form
Click here for a step-by-step guide to apply for the scholarship (PDF) 

Subscribe to our newsletter!
Clicking "Subscribe me" is successful, even if you don't see any confirmation here