The Bristol Short Story Prize for UK and International Writers 2020

The Bristol Short Story Prize – an annual international writing competition open to all published and unpublished, UK and non-UK based writers.  The 2020 Bristol Short Story Prize is open for entries.

The 2019 Bristol Short Story Prize has been won by Australian writer Cameron Stewart for his story, Black Snow. 2nd prize went to Cherise Saywell and 3rd prize was awarded to S. Bhattacharya-Woodward. The inaugural Sansom Award for Bristol writers was won by Ali Bacon.

20 stories will be shortlisted and published in Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Volume 13 by Tangent BooksThe winner and 2 runners up will be selected from the shortlist and announced at an awards ceremony which will be held in Bristol in October 2020.

Worth of Award

  • 1st prize is £1,000, 2nd prize is £500, 3rd prize is £250.
  • 17 further prizes of £100 will be presented to the remaining shortlisted writers.
  • The Sansom Award will be presented to the highest placed story by a Bristol writer.
ALSO READ:   Canon Collins Scholarship for Economic Justice at the University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa 2022


The writing competition is open to all writers around the world whether published or unpublished, UK or non-UK based.

How to Apply

  • Apply online via their website, click the link below
  • The closing date for entries to our 2019 writing competition is midnight (BST) May 1st 2019. The maximum word limit is 4,000, there is no minimum.
  • Stories may be on any theme or subject and entry can be made online or by post.
  • There is an £9 entry fee for all stories submitted and entries must be previously unpublished.
ALSO READ:   International Student Merit Scholarship at Chattam University in USA 2021

Deadline: Closing date is midnight (BST) on April 30th, 2020.


Click here for more details and to apply