The University of Amsterdam in the Netherlands invites applications for its undergraduate and graduate 2014/2015 Amsterdam Merit Scholarships in the following fields of study: Architecture and town planning, Arts and Humanities, Business administration and management, Communication, Education and Teacher Training, Engineering, Environmental Science, Fine and applied arts, Law, Mathematics and computer science, Medical and Health Sciences, Natural Sciences, Service, Tourism and Leisure, Social and Behavioural Sciences, Transport and Communications.

Countries eligible include:
Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Andorra, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua And Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Botswana, Bouvet Island, Brazil, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Colombia,Comoros, Conch Republic, Congo, Democratic Republic of the, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea,Eritrea, Ethiopia, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, Fiji,French Guiana,Gabon, Gambia, Georgia,Ghana,Gibraltar, Greenland,Grenada,Guadeloupe,Guam,Guatemala,Guinea, Guinea Bissau,Guyana, Haiti, Honduras,India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Ivory Coast (Cote D’Ivoire), Jamaica,Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya,Kiribati, Kuwait,Kyrgyzstan,Laos,Lebanon,Lesotho,Liberia,Libya,Macau,Madagascar,Malawi, Malaysia,Maldives, Mali,Marshall Islands,Martinique,Mauritania, Mauritius,Mayotte,Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat,Morocco,Mozambique,Myanmar, Namibia,Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands Antilles, New Caledonia, New Zealand,Nicaragua,Niger, Nigeria, Niue,Norfolk Island,North Korea, Northern Mariana Islands,Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Pitcairn Island, Polynesia, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Reunion, Russia, Rwanda, S.Georgia & S. Sandwich Isls.,

  • Saint Kitts & Nevis,
  • Saint Lucia,
  • Saint Pierre And Miquelon,
  • Saint Vincent & Grenadines,
  • Samoa,
  • San Marino,
  • Sao Tome And Principe,
  • Saudi Arabia,Senegal, Serbia,Seychelles,
  • Sierra Leone, Singapore,Solomon Islands,Somalia, South Africa,South Korea,Sri Lanka,Sudan,Suriname,Svalbard And Jan Mayen Islands, Swaziland,Syria,Taiwan,Tajikistan,Tanzania,Thailand, Togo,Tokelau,
  • Tonga,Trinidad And Tobago,Tunisia,Turkmenistan, Turks And Caicos Islands,Tuvalu,
  • Uganda, Ukraine,United Arab Emirates,United States, Uruguay,Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Virgin Islands,Wallis And Futuna Islands, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Other Eligibility Criteria
The AMS scholarship programme is highly selective. The best eligible candidates will be selected for a scholarship by the faculty or graduate school offering the study programme. Applicants will be selected on the basis of academic merit, such as grade average, letter of recommendation and motivation.
Outstanding students from outside the European Economic Area (holding a non-EEA-nationality) can apply for an Amsterdam Merit Scholarship (AMS). Candidates must be officially accepted into a full-time degree programme at the UvA. The candidate must not receive a full-coverage scholarship from another organisation for the same period of study as the AMS scholarship and must be able to comply with Dutch visa regulations.
Worth of Awards:
The University of Amsterdam provides selected students with scholarships for the official duration of the programme they are enrolled in to the tune of € 6,000 – € 21,000. The scholarship for one-and-a-half or two-year programmes will only be renewed if the student is making satisfactory progress towards the degree.
Availability: 120 scholarships
How to Apply
AMS scholarships are awarded by the faculties and graduate schools. Application procedures vary per faculty/school. For more information on the application procedure and requirements, please visit
Deadline: Deadlines vary per faculty/graduate school (1st March/1st April/1st June annually). For detailed information per faculty/graduate school, please visit
For details on the scholarship and how to apply, click here