University of Cape Town in South Africa invites applications for the PhD Fellowships for Women Scientists from Science and Technology Lagging Countries for the 2018/2019 academic year.

The programme is administered with funds generously provided by the Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (Sida) and is offered in partnership with host institutes throughout the developing world.

The general purpose of the fellowship programme is to contribute to the emergence of a new generation of women leaders in science and technology, and to promote their effective participation in the scientific and technological development of their countries.

Worth of Award

  • A monthly allowance to cover basic living expenses such as accommodation and meals while in the host country
  • A special allowance to attend international conferences during the period of the fellowship
  • A return ticket from the home country to the host institute for the agreed research period
  • Visa expenses
  • Annual medical insurance contribution
  • The opportunity to attend regional science communications workshops, on a competitive basis
  • Study fees (including tuition and registration fees) in agreement with the chosen host institute which is also expected to contribute

1. Candidates must confirm that they intend to return to their home country as soon as possible after completion of the fellowship.

2. Eligible countries

  • Afghanistan Angola
  • Bangladesh Benin Bhutan Bolivia Burkina Faso Burundi
  • Cambodia Cameroon Central African Rep.
  • Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Dem Rep. Congo Djibouti
  • El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Equatorial, Guinea, Gambia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea
  • Bissau
  • Haiti, Honduras
  • Kenya, Kiribati
  • Lao People’s Dem Rep. Lesotho, Liberia
  • Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar
  • Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger
  • Palestine (West Bank and Gaza Strip) Paraguay Rwanda
  • Sao Tome, and Principe Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan Sri
  • Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Syrian Arab, Republic
  • Tajikistan, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tuvalu
  • Uganda, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe

3. Eligible scientific fields

  • Agricultural Sciences
  • Astronomy, Space and Earth Sciences
  • Biological Systems and Organisms
  • Chemical Sciences
  • Computing and Information Technology
  • Engineering Sciences
  • Mathematical Sciences
  • Medical and Health Sciences
  • Neurosciences
  • Physics
  • Structural, Cell and Molecular Biology

4. Eligible academic qualification
The minimum qualification is an MSc degree in one of the above listed study fields.
5. Eligible host institutes

  • Host institutes must be located in a developing country in the South (not the candidate’s home country).
  • Other institutes, not included in the link above, will also be considered if they demonstrate appropriate resources and expertise.
  • Candidates should identify a host institute outside their home country. They can identify a further two host institutes if desired.
  • Candidates who are already on site in the host country will not usually be considered eligible.

How to Apply

  • Sandwich candidates must submit the Registration and No objection certificate prepared by the home institute confirming that the candidate is a PhD registered student and that there is no objection to her studying at the chosen host institute abroad.
  • The certificate template can be downloaded and must be completed and signed by the head/director of the home institute.

Deadline: applications close 01 June 2018

Click here for more details and to apply

Subscribe to our newsletter!
Clicking "Subscribe me" is successful, even if you don't see any confirmation here