Oxford University is inviting prospective graduate students to apply for the Michael Wills scholarship for sub-saharan Africans. Two full scholarships are available for applicants who are applying to one of the following full-time courses: MPhil Development Studies, MSc Economics for Development; MSc Global Governance and Diplomacy; MSc Migration Studies; and MSc Refugee and Forced Migration Studies.

The scholarship is jointly funded by the Dulverton Trust, which is an independent, charitable, grant-making organisation established in 1949, and the Oxford Department of International Development. The scholarships are named after Captain Michael Wills MC, a former student of Magdalen College, who was a cousin of the second Lord Dulverton.
Worth of Award

  • The scholarship covers course fees, college fees and a grant for living costs of £14,553.
  • Awards are made for the full duration of your fee liability for the agreed course.


  • You must also be ordinarily resident in one of the following Sub-Saharan African countries: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
  • Eligible candidates ordinarily resident in South Africa may also be considered.
  • You should be intending to return to your country of ordinary residence on completion of your studies.
  • Priority will be given to applicants who have not previously studied in the US or UK.
  • The eligibility criteria will be applied automatically, using the details you provide in the relevant sections of the graduate application form (for example, your country of ordinary residence and your previous education institutions), to determine whether you are eligible.
  • Selection is based on academic merit, unless specified otherwise.
  • Some of the scholarships are only tenable at specific colleges. Unless specified otherwise, you do not need to select that college as your preference on the graduate application form. All eligible applicants will be considered, regardless of which college (if any) you state as your preference. However, successful applicants will be transferred to the relevant college in order to take up the scholarship.
  • Applicants who hold deferred offers to start in 2018-19 are not eligible to be considered for these scholarships.

You will be considered automatically for this scholarship if:

  • You are applying to start a new graduate course;
  • You submit your course application by the relevant January admissions deadline;
  • You are subsequently offered a place after consideration of applications received by the deadline;
  • Your application is not placed on a waiting list or held back after the January admissions deadline to be re-evaluated against applications received by the March admissions deadline; and
  • You meet the eligibility criteria.

How to Apply

  • Applications are made online through their website. See link below
  • There is no separate application process for this scholarship: to be considered, submit your application for graduate study by the relevant January deadline for your course.

Deadline: Submit your application for graduate study by the relevant January deadline for your course. Selection is expected to take place in May 2018.
Click here for more details and to apply
Click here to apply for graduate admission

Subscribe to our newsletter!
Clicking "Subscribe me" is successful, even if you don't see any confirmation here