The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom (CSCUK) invites applications for 15 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships at the University of York. 10 students joining the online Masters in Public Policy and Management programme and 5 students joining the Masters of Public Administration – International Development programme, commencing their studies in September 2017 will benefit from this.
The University of York is a research-intensive plate glass university located in the city of York, England. Established in 1963, the campus university has expanded to more than thirty departments and centres, covering a wide range of subjectsScholarships are available for pursuing Masters Degree courses at the University of York in Public Policy and Management programme and Masters of Public Administration – International Development at University of York.
Worth of Award

  • The awards themselves are funded by the Department for International Development (DFID).
  • 15 scholarships are available.
  • Scholarship can be taken in  the UK

EligibilityScholarships are available to applicants who meet all of the following criteria:

  • a citizen of a developing Commonwealth country, refugee, or British protected person
  • permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases
  • are working in or with public organisations, including NGO’s, aid agencies and local/national government departments, and can demonstrate throughout their application that they are working towards the Sustainable Development Goals
  • can dedicate at least 15 hours each week to their studies with a number of study sessions being over 2 hours in length
  • meet the University Entry Requirements for the programme (see the ‘Entry requirements’ on each course web page)
  • Students from following developing commonwealth countries can apply for these scholarships. List of Countries: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Virgin Islands (British), Zambia and Zimbabwe

How to Apply

  • Full instructions for the Electronic Application System (EAS) are contained on the Scholarship Commission’s website.
  • It is very important that you use the EAS and please do not apply directly to the University.  If their scholarship application is short-listed we will notify you at the appropriate time to apply to the university.
  • The scholarship application will ask they to provide email addresses for 2 referees.
  •  When they submit their application to the EAS their referees will be contacted to ask them to provide and upload a reference.
  • They receive a huge volume of applications for these awards and therefore will only consider those applications supported by 2 references at the closing date (12th May) so please submit your application at least 1 week before the deadline to allow your referees time to write a letter for you.
  •  Applicants are responsible for following up with their referees to ensure letters are submitted.

Deadline: The application deadline is May 12, 2017.Click here for more details and to apply 

Subscribe to our newsletter!
Clicking "Subscribe me" is successful, even if you don't see any confirmation here