The Australian Government through the Australia awards calls on Ghanaian to apply for scholarships to study in Australia available for students who wish to undertake a Masters in one of the listed priority fields of study.
Australia Awards in Africa comprise of scholarships, short courses and fellowships that aim to support the leadership needs of African professionals as well as effectively focus training on areas most relevant to Africa’s development priorities.
Candidates for Masters Awards may be required to sit a language proficiency test as part of the selection and course placement process.
Course Level: Awards are available to undertake Masters-level studies in Australian universities.
Eligible Subject: Awards are provided in one of the priority fields of study: Agricultural Productivity, Extractives and Natural Resource Management (including mining related subjects) and Public Policy (including infrastructure, economic policy, trade, policy).  Applications will also be considered in the following sectors: Education, Environment, Gender and Health.
Worth of Award

  • For holders of an Australia Awards Masters Scholarship, entitlements include the full costs of tuition fees for up to two years for a Masters award.
  • An economy class flight to and from Australia is provided and an approximate annual stipend of AUD 30,000 to cover living expenses whilst on award in Australia.
  • Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) is also provided to cover Awardee’s basic medical costs.
  • A one off Establishment Allowance of AUD 5,000 is payable to assist with the costs of starting life in Australia and commencing your course (e.g. course books and materials, rental deposits, household items etc.).
  • Awardees, whose families remain in their home country, may be entitled to a reunion airfare to allow them to travel home midway through the course, but this is only available to Awardees whose course is for 2 years or longer.


  • Applicant must be at least 25 and not more than 50 years of age at the date of your application.
  • Applicant must have at least three (3) years’ post-graduation work experience. This work experience must be in a role relevant to your proposed field of study and to your employment organisation type (e.g. public sector applicants should demonstrate public sector work experience, and so on). Preference will be given to candidates with greater periods of experience.
  • If applicant is public sector applicant, they must comply with the Government of Ghana regulations for government employees wishing to apply for scholarships.
  • Applicant possess, as a minimum, a Bachelors degree (or the equivalent) of at least 4 years in length with at least a 2:2 (2nd Class Lower Division).
  • Applicant must not already hold, or be studying for, a Masters degree
  • Applicant must be willing to make a formal commitment to return to your current employment following completion of the award
  • Applicant must meet the general minimum eligibility criteria for Australia Awards Scholarships – refer to the Australia Awards Scholarships policy handbook

How to Apply: The mode of applying is online.
Deadline: The application deadline is 15 December 2016.
Click here for more details and to apply

Subscribe to our newsletter!
Clicking "Subscribe me" is successful, even if you don't see any confirmation here