Chevening in collaboration with Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies (OCIS) offers fellowship for outstanding individuals with leadership potential from around the world. The programme offers financial support to individuals wishing to undertake a period of independent study and research at the Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies (OCIS).
The Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies is a Recognized Independent Centre of the University of Oxford, established in 1985 and incorporated by the Royal Charter. It’s Patron is HRH The Prince of Wales.
In order to receive a Chevening Award, all applicants must demonstrate that they have fulfilled the Chevening English language requirement by 13 July 2017.
Course Level: Fellowship is available to undertake a period of independent study and research at the Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies.
Study Subject:  Fellows will undertake a period of research and study at OCIS based on the culture and civilisation of Islam and of all aspects of contemporary Muslim societies in the global context.
Worth of Award

  • 6 month period of research at OCIS
  • Living expenses for the duration of the Fellowship
  • Return economy airfare from their home country to the UK
  • Allowance package for study related activities

To be eligible for a Chevening/OCIS Fellowship, applicant must:

  • Demonstrate the potential to rise to positions of leadership and influence.
  • Demonstrate that they possess the personal, intellectual and interpersonal attributes reflecting this potential.
  • Be a citizen of one of the listed countries, who will return to your home country at the end of the period of fellowship.
  • A postgraduate (PG) level qualification (or equivalent professional training or experience in a relevant area) at the time of application;
  • Significant professional and/or academic research experience (5+ years);
  • Applicants who have previously received financial benefit from an HMG funded scholarship or fellowship are eligible to apply after a period of five years following the completion of their first HMG funded award and are required to demonstrate their career progression from that point;
  • Provide evidence of meeting at least the minimum English language abilities for Chevening Awards
  • Not hold dual nationality where one nationality is British (other than for nationals exempt from this requirement listed in the Chevening Guidance for Applicants).
  • Not be employees, employees’ relatives (or former employees who have left employment less than two years before) of Her Majesty’s Government including the FCO (including FCO posts), the British Council, DFID, MOD, BIS, UKTI and UKBA, the Association of Commonwealth Universities or OCIS or any of their wholly-owned subsidiaries.

Nationality: Applications are invited from individuals from the following countries: Afghanistan Algeria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Brunei, Egypt, Indonesia, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Mauritania, Morocco, Myanmar, Nigeria, Pakistan, The Occupied Palestinian Territories, Philippines, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.
How to Apply
Applications for this fellowship award are open. Find out more about the application process, and apply, via the eligible country page.
Deadline: The application deadline is 8 November 2016.
Click here for more details and to apply

Subscribe to our newsletter!
Clicking "Subscribe me" is successful, even if you don't see any confirmation here