Royal Academy of Engineering invites application for Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation 2016/2017 for applicants from sub-Saharan Africa.
The Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation is designed to support the commercial development of engineering innovations that have a positive impact on social and economic development in the region
Applicants must have an engineering innovation and provide a letter of support from a university of research institution.
Course Level
The Africa Prize will encourage ambitious and talented sub-Saharan African engineers from all disciplines to apply their skills to develop scalable solutions to local challenges, highlighting the importance of engineering as an enabler of improved quality of life and economic development.
Study Subject: Engineers from all disciplines are eligible to apply for this programme.
Worth of Award

  •  Crucial commercialization support is awarded to a shortlist of innovative applicants through a six-month period of training and mentoring.
  • Following this period of mentorship, finalists will be invited to present at an event held in Africa and a winner will be selected to receive £25,000 along with runners-up, who will each be awarded £10,000.

Applicants must meet all of the following criteria to be eligible to apply for this scholarship:-
-Applicants must be individuals or groups of no more than three people.
-Applicants must be citizens of a country within sub-Saharan Africa and currently reside there. For teams of two or three, the lead applicant must be a citizen of a country within sub-Saharan Africa and currently reside there.
-Applicants must be engineers who can provide a letter of support from a university of research institution.
Applicants should have achieved the development of, and be in the early stages of commercialising an engineering innovation that:
-will bring social and/or environmental benefits to country/countries in sub-Saharan Africa
-has strong potential to be replicated and scaled up
-is accompanied by an ambitious but realistic business plan which has strong commercial viability.
Industrial researchers and establishments are not eligible.
-The applicant’s innovation can be any new product, technology or service, based on research in engineering defined in its broadest sense to encompass a wide range of fields, including: agricultural technology, biotechnology, chemical engineering, civil engineering, computer science, design engineering, electrical and electronic engineering, ICT, materials science, mechanical engineering, and medical engineering. If applicants are in any doubt that their area of expertise would be considered engineering then please contact the Academy to discuss their application.
Nationality: Applicants from sub-Saharan Africa (Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ivory Coast, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe) are eligible to apply for this programme.
How to Apply: The mode of application is online.
Supporting Material: After logging in to the online Grant System and selecting the relevant scheme (Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation) applicant should be presented with the ‘Instructions’ screen. Here they will see some general instructions on how to use the system as well as the six sections of the application form:
– Application details
-Business Plan
-About Applicant
-Supporting Information and Declaration
Deadline: Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation deadline for applications is 30th June 2016.
Click link for more details and to apply

Subscribe to our newsletter!
Clicking "Subscribe me" is successful, even if you don't see any confirmation here