Students from developing countries are invited to submit applications for The New Zealand Development Scholarships funded by the New Zealand Aid Programme, the New Zealand Government’s overseas aid and development programme. They are managed by the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MFAT).
The purpose of the scholarships is for candidates to gain knowledge and skills through post-graduate study in specific subject areas that will assist in the development of their home country. Awardees are required to return to their home country for at least two years after the completion of their scholarship to apply these new skills and knowledge in government, civil society, or private business organisations.
Worth of Scholarship
New Zealand has first-rate education institutions that offer world-recognised qualifications. Successful applicants will have access to excellent academic knowledge in quality facilities.
The scholarships include financial support for tuition, living costs while in New Zealand, and airfares.
The partners of students are eligible for a work visa that allows them to live and work in New Zealand for the duration of their partner’s study.
Eligible Countries
Applications for New Zealand Development Scholarships are welcome from the following countries. For information specific to your country, including priority sectors, follow the links below to your country’s scholarship information page.
Africa: Kenya, South Africa, Tanzania and Zambia
Asia: China, Mongolia, Nepal, and Timor-Leste
Latin America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay
Eligibility Criteria
Applicants must meet the following New Zealand Development Scholarships eligibility criteria before their application will be considered against the selection criteria, including any region-specific criteria. Applicants are expected to continue residing in their home country during the Scholarship application and selection process.
To be eligible, you must:

  • be a citizen of an New Zealand Development Scholarships participating country (permanent residents are not eligible to apply)
  • be residing in your country of citizenship, preferably for at least two years prior to application
  • not have citizenship or permanent residence status of New Zealand, Australia, or another developed country
  • not be married or engaged to be married to a person who holds, or who is eligible to hold, citizenship or permanent residence of New Zealand, Australia or another developed country
  • be aged 17 or over before the scholarship start date
  • be applying to commence a new qualification and not be seeking funding for a qualification already in progress in New Zealand or another country
  • not have completed, or nearly completed, a qualification at a similar level (i.e. applicants must apply for a higher level qualification than any previously attained), unless strong developmental relevance is demonstrated
  • satisfy the admission requirements of the New Zealand education institution at which the qualification is to be undertaken, including English language criteria
  • have been working in your home country since completing their highest tertiary qualification gained to date, preferably for at least two years prior to application
  • be able to demonstrate a strong commitment to the relevant sector in your home country, and to your country’s development in general
  • be able to take up the scholarship in the academic year for which it is offered.

English language requirements
New Zealand tertiary education institutions set their own admission requirements for English language proficiency. All applicants should check the IELTS (International English Language Testing System, academic stream) or TOEFL (Testing of English as a Foreign Language) score required for admission to their selected New Zealand education institution. As a guide, most New Zealand education institutions require a minimum IELTS score of 6.5, with no band less than 6.0, for postgraduate level study. Some postgraduate qualifications may require a higher score.
Deadline: Ranges from May 1 – June depending on the school you are applying for.
For more on the scholarship, and to apply, click here.