The African Studies Centre, University of Oxford is now accepting applications for the 2014-2015 Ioma Evans-Pritchard/Commonwealth Scholarship. The scholarship is a part of the development of African and Interdisciplinary Studies, and it is hosted at St Anne’s College in conjunction with the African Studies Centre, University of Oxford.
Worth of Award
The Scholarship will cover the full university and college fees and a maintenance allowance for a suitably qualified student applying for the MSc African Studies.
To be eligible for the scholarship candidates must:
• Be nationals of a Commonwealth developing country,* and not at present living or studying in a developed country;
• Have not undertaken studies lasting one year or more in a developed country;
• Be able to confirm in writing that neither they or their families are able to pay for them to study in the UK;
• Be willing to return to their home country as soon as their award comes to an end (the Commonwealth Commission will only consider requests to extend leave to remain in the UK post-award for those wishing to progress from Master’s to PhD study and strict conditions will apply).

  • (Awards are open to students from Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Cameroon, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Western Samoa Zambia and Zimbabwe.

How to Apply
In order to be considered for the Scholarship you must indicate in the funding section of your admissions application that you intend to apply for Ioma Evans-Pritchard/Commonwealth Scholarship and you must name St. Anne’s your first college choice.
Your application for admission to the course must be submitted to the Graduate Admissions office by the closing date of the 2nd application deadline (24 January 2014) if you wish to be considered for the Ioma Evans-Pritchard/Commonwealth Scholarship.  Incomplete applications received by this deadline will not be considered for this award.
Deadline: January 24, 2014
Results will be announced by the end of April 2014.
Further information is available from the African Studies Administrator, 13 Bevington Road, Oxford OX2 6LH, or by email to [email protected].
To read more about the scholarship and the African Studies master’s programme, click here.
To start you University of Oxford admission application, click here.